This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#104045 by Andre101
Fri Dec 07, 2012 4:55 pm
I'm new to the ooma experience. I have an excellent internet service and the sound quality of my ooma phone is better than I expected. My only concern is that I notice a delay when I answer the phone and say hello. The calling party does not hear my hello and the start of the call is kind of awkward. Is this normal? I'm using the vtech dect 6.0 wireless phones with ooma. To compensate for the delay I'm waiting two seconds then I say hello. Is this what everybody does with VoIP?

Other than that, everything is great.

Any ideas or suggestions?
#104046 by thunderbird
Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:21 pm
Andre101 wrote:I'm new to the ooma experience. I have an excellent internet service and the sound quality of my ooma phone is better than I expected. My only concern is that I notice a delay when I answer the phone and say hello. The calling party does not hear my hello and the start of the call is kind of awkward. Is this normal? I'm using the vtech dect 6.0 wireless phones with ooma. To compensate for the delay I'm waiting two seconds then I say hello. Is this what everybody does with VoIP?

Other than that, everything is great.

Any ideas or suggestions?

There has been a delay that you talked about for some time. But I believe that the next firmware update will correct this problem.
#104218 by thunderbird
Thu Dec 13, 2012 1:48 pm
Ooma Telo Firmware 64261 is the lateset release that some people are getting if they have a HD2 handset or Linx device.

You can check what version of Ooma Telo firmware that you have by dialing *#*#001, A voice is heard coming out of the Ooma Telo, giving the firmware version.
Or checking Ooma Setup at http://172.27.35.1/ from a computer that is connected to the Ooma Telo Home port with a network cable.