This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#96707 by coastalcruiser
Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:40 pm
I am fairly new to ooma and have been posting mainly to this thread (viewtopic.php?f=2&t=13691) in the installation forum. This new question seems to deserve a thread of its own though, and the Call Quality forum is more appropriate for it as well.

The question is, does ooma support the 802.1p protocol for managing call quality on a network? Under certain conditions support of this oddly named protocol could be of great benefit to ooma subscribers. Yet, after doing a google search, searching these forums, emailing ooma support, chating with ooma support, and finally calling ooma support... I am forced to conclude that the answer to this [seemingly innocent] question does not exist in this space/time continuum.

For anyone wondering, here is an example of when support of 802.1p would be of importance; The "p" in 802.1p ostensibly stands for "priority". It's a method of giving certain network packets a higher priority over other packets. All the 802.1p protocol does is add a small number (0-7) to each packet generated by a device on the network which tells the networking equipment what priority to give the packet. Comes in handy for time sensitive applications such as making telephone calls over the Internet.

If you plug your telo into you Internet connection and then plug your router or switch into your telo, the 802.1p protocol has little meaning to you. In that case the telo does all the work for prioritizing calls, and who cares how it does it, as long as it works, right?