Ooma signal distribution

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
rayt168
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:01 am

Ooma signal distribution

Post by rayt168 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:16 am

Hello, I have had my Ooma for about 4 months now. It seems like I am not getting any type of signal in other phone jacks besides the phone that is hooked up directly to the telo. It was working fine before. I have tried wireless and wired without any luck. Has anybody had this problem before? How did you get around it?

https://www.ooma.com/app/support/distri ... hone-jacks

I followed the instructions from above link. The junction box is disconnected.

Thanks in advance.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Ooma signal distribution

Post by thunderbird » Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:13 am

rayt168 wrote:Hello, I have had my Ooma for about 4 months now. It seems like I am not getting any type of signal in other phone jacks besides the phone that is hooked up directly to the telo. It was working fine before. I have tried wireless and wired without any luck. Has anybody had this problem before? How did you get around it?

https://www.ooma.com/app/support/distri ... hone-jacks

I followed the instructions from above link. The junction box is disconnected.

Thanks in advance.
Make sure the phone line coming in from the street, from your old phone provider, is disconnected from your House phone wiring.

If your Ooma Telo has a Wall phone port, don't use it.

Connect a phone cord from the Ooma Telo Phone port to a house Wall Jack. Listen for the Ooma dial tone with a phone connected to another house Wall Jack.

If you want to position a phone next to the Ooma Telo, add a phone line splitter to the phone cord going from the Ooma Telo phone port, to the house Wall Jack.

rayt168
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Ooma signal distribution

Post by rayt168 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:33 am

Thank you, Thunderbird.

Is there a quick and easy way to tell when the old phone line is disconnected? I was using Brighthouse phone before. I may not have done it correctly the first time. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma signal distribution

Post by lbmofo » Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:05 am

Check this out "how to distribute dialtone throughout the house" viewtopic.php?t=13354
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

George Cole
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:59 am

Re: Ooma signal distribution

Post by George Cole » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:40 am

My multiple phones quit a while back. I regain a working system again I did the following.
1 Replaced the cable from the Telo to the wall jack. no help
2. Checked the wall jack wiring and re-secured the connections..no help but got a off hook signal and #1 line in use light on. removed the cable from the Telo to the wall jack.
3. Noticed the #1 line light on. no phone connected.
4. Unplugged the Telo, went to grab a beer.
5. Plugged everything back in, reconnected the Telo. after reset everything working as advertized..

I'm thinking the Telo had a brain fart but now all is right with the world.

Regards,
George

Cyberchat
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: Ooma signal distribution

Post by Cyberchat » Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:42 am

George Cole wrote:My multiple phones quit a while back. I regain a working system again I did the following.
1 Replaced the cable from the Telo to the wall jack. no help
2. Checked the wall jack wiring and re-secured the connections..no help but got a off hook signal and #1 line in use light on. removed the cable from the Telo to the wall jack.
3. Noticed the #1 line light on. no phone connected.
4. Unplugged the Telo, went to grab a beer.
5. Plugged everything back in, reconnected the Telo. after reset everything working as advertized..

I'm thinking the Telo had a brain fart but now all is right with the world.

Regards,
George
Ahhhhhhh! A nice cold beer fixes a lot of problems! :D
First year: Modem-->OomaTelo-->Router
Now: Modem-->Router-->OomaTelo
Ooma Premier, two phone numbers
Ooma Handset
AT&T DECT-6.0 two-line base with four remotes & headset

Post Reply