This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#86913 by fstheoh
Thu Sep 08, 2011 6:00 am
I am new to ooma and I just installed it about four days ago. Unfortunately, out of the gate, the voice quality is extremely bad. It's unusable. I use netgear DG834G. I read in many posts that perhaps the problem is with netgear products. With this in mind, can anybody suggest any modem that works with ooma?

I use ATT DSL, so I am just wondering whether 2WIRE modem or Motorola AT&T modem will work with ooma.

What DSL modem do you use that works with ooma (without doing much debugging hopefully)? Any suggestions?
#86914 by thunderbird
Thu Sep 08, 2011 6:54 am
fstheoh wrote:I am new to ooma and I just installed it about four days ago. Unfortunately, out of the gate, the voice quality is extremely bad. It's unusable. I use netgear DG834G. I read in many posts that perhaps the problem is with netgear products. With this in mind, can anybody suggest any modem that works with ooma?

I use ATT DSL, so I am just wondering whether 2WIRE modem or Motorola AT&T modem will work with ooma.

What DSL modem do you use that works with ooma (without doing much debugging hopefully)? Any suggestions?

Below are some suggestions that should help:

One (To see if your Modem is performing properly):
Run http://speedtest.phonepower.com/ to see how your modem and Internet connection is doing. Then click on the Advance tab on the lower left side, and post the following values here in this thread, by clicking on "Quote" in the upper right hand corner of this post. Then fill in the blanks.

Download Speed: ________________
Upload Speed: ________________
Download Consistency of Service ________
Upload Consistency of Service _________
Maximum TCP Delay _____________
Jitter you server __________
Jitter server you _________
Packet loss: you server_______