Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
krawfo
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:00 am

Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by krawfo » Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:15 am

I've had these units for almost 2 years with no problems. Great call quality, etc. After a thunderstorm, my Scout quit working. If I plug it directly into the Hub it works fine. If I connect them with a 10 foot cable all is well. If I use a 50 ft cable, the Scout won't work.
At the same time I've been having problems with static on my calls. Many calls to tech. support failed to resolve that issue.
I'm beginning to wonder if my OOMA Hub has a problem even though it is "working". Maybe not putting out a strong enough signal to power the Scout 50 ft away? Is this also related to the static?
Thing I've tried to eliminate static include:
Disconnect router
Disconnect Scout
Tried using a different phone unit.
Replaced ethernet cable.
Tried different A/C outlet
Test call quality with Visualware - no problems with dropped packets, jitter, etc.

Any advice would be most welcome.

Ken

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by thunderbird » Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:24 am

krawfo:
Have you tried a different power adapter with the same Voltage and Amperage to the Ooma Hub and to the Ooma Scout?

See the following topic for proper voltages and amperages.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11855

krawfo
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by krawfo » Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:40 pm

T'Bird - you nailed it. I happened to have an extra 12V 1 amp wall wort laying around. That got my Scout back to work. If you're up for another miracle, any ideas on the static? The new wort didn't fix that.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by thunderbird » Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:00 pm

krawfo wrote:T'Bird - you nailed it. I happened to have an extra 12V 1 amp wall wort laying around. That got my Scout back to work. If you're up for another miracle, any ideas on the static? The new wort didn't fix that.
I was hoping that the power adapter would have corrected to static issue also.

If you have a DSL filter lying around, try connecting the DSL filter in the phone circuit, even if you don't use DSL Internet service.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by murphy » Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:31 pm

krawfo wrote:T'Bird - you nailed it. I happened to have an extra 12V 1 amp wall wort laying around. That got my Scout back to work. If you're up for another miracle, any ideas on the static? The new wort didn't fix that.
The Scout requires a 5 Volt power supply. 12 volts will destroy it.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

krawfo
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by krawfo » Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:26 am

Murphy - I changed the power adapter to the HUB not the SCOUT. The hub uses 12V 1000mV.

krawfo
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by krawfo » Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:27 am

T'Bird - I got a DLS filter today and installed it. No joy. Still full of static. I went by Costco last week and picked up a Telo unit. I just installed it and the static is gone. Problem solved but I'm $189 poorer !

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by thunderbird » Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:39 pm

krawfo wrote:T'Bird - I got a DLS filter today and installed it. No joy. Still full of static. I went by Costco last week and picked up a Telo unit. I just installed it and the static is gone. Problem solved but I'm $189 poorer !
Well at least you tried.

These thread probably aren't very helpful but:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=189&hilit=Ooma+Hub+Static

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=203&p=735&hilit=Oom ... tatic#p735

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=503&p=2061&hilit=Oo ... atic#p2061

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=763&p=3357&hilit=Oo ... atic#p3357

krawfo
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Strange Problem w/ OOMA Hub & Scout

Post by krawfo » Mon Jun 20, 2011 4:07 pm

T'Bird, thanks for all your help troubleshooting this problem. I really appreciate it.

Post Reply