This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#82923 by rwinnike
Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:27 am
I have been using Ooma for a couple months now. I have a cable connection (Road Runner Extreme) using the Modem-Ooma-Router setup between an Ubee modem and an Apple Time Capsule. My calls usually work ok, but sometimes drop. Calls over 20 min almost always drop. Very annoying. The following advice from Thunderbird seems to apply to me, but I am unable to access http://172.27.35.1. My web browser keeps timing out after trying for a minute or 2 to access this address. Any advice?

From Thunderbird:
To help stabilize your Ooma Internet connection:
If your Ooma device is connected Modem-Ooma-Router, access your Ooma Setup pages by typing http://172.27.35.1 in your computer browser window. The Ooma Setup pages open. Click on Internet, go down to INTERNET Port MAC Address: and change setting from Automatic to Use Built In. Click on Update device. Reboot your Modem, when the Modem is done booting reboot your Ooma device.
#82924 by lbmofo
Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:33 am
That setup page is accessible from computers connected to the "Home" port. Look at this post: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11805#p82857

Calls consistently dropping? Highly likely you have issues with your internet (modem, router etc) rather than Ooma having issues. Check out this post by me with a couple of links in it: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11651&start=30#p82913
#82925 by rwinnike
Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:59 am
Thanks for the quick feedback!

Ok, I changed the INTERNET Port MAC Address to Use Built In with no problem. Thanks for the clear instructions on how to do this. I will report back in a day or so if I am still getting dropped calls.