This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#82624 by colbywen
Thu Jun 02, 2011 8:53 am
I experienced recent call drops or can't make a call sometimes after the firmware got updated to the latest 45073 version. I have been using for two months and it seldom has problems until the OOMA push this new version of firmware.
I also noticed it seems OOMA will hold about 100K upload bandwidth from time to time on this firmware. I checked it to find
the bandwidth is lost about 100k whenever I got the call drop issue. Then I need to reboot the dsl modem, OOMA Telco and my home router to get back it to normal. I tried to call the phone support representative and it is awful and they don't know
much about it. I used all my home network after OOMA Telco, so my OOMA telco connects to DSL modem directly and my phone and linksys wirless router connect to OOMA.
#82627 by thunderbird
Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:15 am
colbywen:
To help stabilize your Ooma Internet connection:
If your Ooma device is connected Modem-Ooma-Router, access your Ooma Setup pages by typing http://172.27.35.1 in your computer browser window. The Ooma Setup pages open. Click on Internet, go down to INTERNET Port MAC Address: and change setting from Automatic to Use Built In. Click on Update device. Reboot your Modem, when the Modem is done booting reboot your Ooma device.

Note: Reboot means remove power, then plug power back in for the device in the order listed above.

Access the Ooma Setup Advanced page. Under Quality of Service set both the Upstream Internet speed and Down Stream Internet speed to Zero. Click on Update. Then test making and receiving calls.

If you continue to have problems post those problems and the results of the test below: