No incoming caller id

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
ansarim
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:02 pm

No incoming caller id

Post by ansarim » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:05 pm

Hello,

I'm a long time Ooma customer but, recently, I changed my setup. I used to have this:

Modem->Ooma->Router.

Now, I have changed it to:

Modem->Router->Ooma

The reason is not related to Ooma but, to have access to my internal network w/port forwarding.

Anyway, I used to get call-id in the previous setup but, now, i'm not getting any caller ID. Is there any specific ports I need to open up on Router so that all the call data gets to Ooma?.

Thanks,
Ansari

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:13 pm

As far as I know there should be no reason, if ooma works, that your new setup will change your caller id status. Did you disconnect a phone line in the process? A WALL connection?

Wayne

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:14 pm

As a second thought, did you restart everything after you made the changes? modem/router/ooma

Wayne

ansarim
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by ansarim » Sat Apr 04, 2009 8:35 pm

Wayne,

I only have/had VOIP line. I had never used land-line connection w/ Ooma.

Everything was power cycled (atleast a couple of times) after the change.

Thanks,
Ansari

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:46 am

Does caller ID show up in the Lounge/call log?

Wayne

ansarim
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by ansarim » Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:36 am

Yes, the caller id shows up in the Lounge/Call log.

BTW, if I switch back to older configuration (Modem->Ooma->router), I instantly get the caller id but, it goes away with Modem->Router->Ooma.

-Ansari

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:05 am

What kind of a router do you have?
I have a Linksys and never had to change anything to get caller id.
However here are the ports ooma uses for outgoing.

UDP 1194
UDP 3480
UDP 514
UDP 49000-50000
TCP 443

Maybe you have something blocking one of these.

Wayne

ansarim
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by ansarim » Sun Apr 05, 2009 6:52 pm

I have Linksys WRT54GL. I tried opening those ports up but, doesn't change anything.

Thanks for all the help. If you do have any more suggestions, please let me know.

Thanks,
Ansari

runagun
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:23 am

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by runagun » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:36 pm

Same router I got but with dd-wrt. I would highly suggest to reflash ur router to dd-wrt. Have u tried putting Ooma to the DMZ in the router?

ansarim wrote:I have Linksys WRT54GL. I tried opening those ports up but, doesn't change anything.
Thanks for all the help. If you do have any more suggestions, please let me know.
Thanks,
Ansari

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: No incoming caller id

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:59 am

I have a Linksys WRT54gs. I have used ooma both in front of and behind the router and never had to change a thing to get caller ID.
As runagun suggests, I would at least upgrade your firmware to the correct latest version.

Wayne

Post Reply