Calculation to setup QOS Upstream on Telo

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
mitchel
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:33 am

Calculation to setup QOS Upstream on Telo

Post by mitchel » Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:55 am

I am trying to configure the Ooma Telo:

Quality Of Service
Upstream Internet Speed (kbps):

Because I am experiencing a delay. I always mess up the calculationsm, they want the upstream at kbps but Speedtest gives it in MB/s and I am not sure if I first have to divide by 8???

Attached is the screen capture of the speedtest.

So what do I enter for ______kbps?

Thanks,

Mitch
Attachments
speedtest.gif
speedtest.gif (22.6 KiB) Viewed 1316 times

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Calculation to setup QOS Upstream on Telo

Post by murphy » Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:04 am

9660 and 3690

kbps is 1000 times mbps

For future reference k is 1,000 and m is 1,000,000.
Last edited by murphy on Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Calculation to setup QOS Upstream on Telo

Post by thunderbird » Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:07 am

mitchel:
At the left hand top corner of the "Speedtest.net" page, click on "preferences". About two thirds of the page to the right you will see "Speed Measurement". Under Speed Measurement select "kilobits".

Post Reply