Background clicking on my ooma hub.

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
phaedrus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:17 pm

Background clicking on my ooma hub.

Post by phaedrus » Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:20 pm

Hi.
I just set up my ooma hub last night. Whenever I use the phone there is a constant clicking that can be heard in the background. It can be heard from both ends, and is quite annoying. I don't think we can use the phone if it sounds like that. Can anyone help me fix it?
Thanks.

ntoy

Re: Background clicking on my ooma hub.

Post by ntoy » Mon Jan 10, 2011 1:10 pm

Hello,

Do you have a different phone to try?

tjnamtiw
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Background clicking on my ooma hub.

Post by tjnamtiw » Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:51 pm

That's a good sign that someone is tapping your phone!!! :o) Have you written to Obama lately?
It could be a bad connection anywhere along the path from your house to the central office. I am assuming you have DSL....... Call the phone company and have them run a line test.

phaedrus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: Background clicking on my ooma hub.

Post by phaedrus » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:38 am

Just ran a speed test:
Download 12.76 Mb/s
Upload 0.31 Mb/s
ping 87 ms

I will try a different phone. I don't have a land line, so I don't think the phone company can help!

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Background clicking on my ooma hub.

Post by murphy » Tue Jan 11, 2011 7:07 am

phaedrus wrote:Just ran a speed test:
Download 12.76 Mb/s
Upload 0.31 Mb/s
ping 87 ms

I will try a different phone. I don't have a land line, so I don't think the phone company can help!
What kind of ISP do you have?
12 down and .3 up is extremely unbalanced.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

phaedrus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: Background clicking on my ooma hub.

Post by phaedrus » Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:12 pm

Murhpy, thanks for the help.
My internet connection is Time Warner Broadband with a max speed of Download:7Mbps and upload:512 Kbps. I guess the test was a little off or something. Is there any way to balance it out? Is the imbalance affecting my phone quality.

Ntoy, I tried a phone with a cord and the clicking went away. I would like to buy a new cordless phone I guess. Does anyone know of any good ones?

Thanks for the help.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Background clicking on my ooma hub.

Post by thunderbird » Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:21 pm

Just make sure you purchase DECT 6 cordless phones.

We use Panasonic DECT 6 PLUS phones, and we like them very much.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Background clicking on my ooma hub.

Post by lbmofo » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:03 pm

Maybe a 3 handset DECT 6.0 phone for about $40 on sale. This is one example: http://amzn.com/B001P5O0BO
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply