No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
jrank001
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:58 pm

No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

Post by jrank001 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:57 pm

My house phones do not have a dial tone or ring when a call comes in. Yet the answering machine picks up the call and the caller can leave a message. I've reset the ooma three times. I'm lost.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

Post by thunderbird » Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:41 pm

jrank001:

For testing only: Try disconneting you house phone wiring, wireless phones, etc from your Ooma device, and connect only one corded phone, to the phone jack. Reboot you Ooma device. Listen for the dial tone.

jrank001
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:58 pm

Re: No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

Post by jrank001 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:13 pm

thunderbird wrote:jrank001:

For testing only: Try disconneting you house phone wiring, wireless phones, etc from your Ooma device, and connect only one corded phone, to the phone jack. Reboot you Ooma device. Listen for the dial tone.

The phone I have directly connected to the Ooma is a corded phone/fax machine. That's been that way for over a year now. I have three cordless phones in various rooms from there. No dial tone on any of them.

murphy
Posts: 7177
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

Post by murphy » Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:23 pm

jrank001 wrote:
thunderbird wrote:jrank001:

For testing only: Try disconneting you house phone wiring, wireless phones, etc from your Ooma device, and connect only one corded phone, to the phone jack. Reboot you Ooma device. Listen for the dial tone.

The phone I have directly connected to the Ooma is a corded phone/fax machine. That's been that way for over a year now. I have three cordless phones in various rooms from there. No dial tone on any of them.
What is the cordless phone base connected to?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

Post by thunderbird » Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:24 pm

jrank001:

For testing only: Did you try disconnecting your wireless phones from your Ooma device, while leaving your corded fax phone connected and listening for a dial tone on your fax phone? Next disconnect your corded fax phone from your Ooma device, and reconnect you wireless phone and listen for a dial tone on your fax phone.

jrank001
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:58 pm

Re: No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

Post by jrank001 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:29 pm

thunderbird wrote:jrank001:

For testing only: Did you try disconnecting your wireless phones from your Ooma device, while leaving your corded fax phone connected and listening for a dial tone on your fax phone? Next disconnect your corded fax phone from your Ooma device, and reconnect you wireless phone and listen for a dial tone on your fax phone.

Yes I did that with no luck either way. It was working fine yesterday.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

Post by thunderbird » Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:00 pm

jrank001:

If you can play stored phone messages on your Ooma device, but have no dial-tone at all? If so you need to call Ooma customer service, your Ooma device is probably defective.

jrank001
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:58 pm

Re: No dial tone, cant place or receive calls

Post by jrank001 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:14 pm

It's working now. Strange. Thanks for the help. :D

Post Reply