This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#69768 by cpcosmo
Sun Nov 28, 2010 3:24 pm
Greetings. I am new to Ooma and am experiencing a noticeable delay when talking with others. I have a Telo and a handset. I have the hub configured behind my Buffalo router running Tomato firmware. I have been experimenting with the router's QoS settings trying to reduce/eliminate the delay. I've read a number of posts here from others having the same problems and I've experimented with a few of the suggestions to no avail. I'm wondering if others running Tomato could share their QoS settings so I can confirm I haven't messed something up at the router.

If I still have a delay, does it make sense to place the hub between the cable modem and the router or can Tomato handle the traffic appropriately?

Thanks for the help.
Last edited by cpcosmo on Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
#69772 by cpcosmo
Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:18 pm
...the experiments continue: I moved the hub between the router and the cable modem, and disabled QoS on the router. Same problem. I also adjusted the upstream QoS setting in the Ooma Setup to match what speedtest is telling me. Again, no improvement. Is the 1/2 - 3/4 sec delay just the way it goes with Ooma?
#69774 by DTMF
Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:23 pm
Delay can be caused by latency on your connection as delivered by your provider and there's no setting you can change on your router that will fix that. Are you sure that you don't just have high latency on your connection? You can see the latency on your connection by running the test at http://myspeed.visualware.com/indexvoip.php
#69776 by Davesworld
Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:39 pm