This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#69742 by jacobp
Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:58 am
Hello. I'm new to the Ooma world and I've decided to update my 5.8ghz phone system to DECT 6.0 phones. I need at least 8 extension phones. Can anyone recommend a brand/model that will work well with Ooma (preferably with HD Voice). Thanks.
#69753 by thunderbird
Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:49 am
Look over the Panasonic KX-TG6544B DECT 6.0 PLUS Expandable Talking Digital Cordless with Answering System with 4 Handsets. Your can buy individual handsets to add to the system, but the individual handsets are expensive to purchase by themselves. But since you need 8 phones, it would probably be cheaper to just buy two each Panasonic KX-TG6544B 4 phone systems for $83.85 each at Amazon.com. Recently we purchased this wireless Dect 6.0 system when we were having Quality of Service issues with Ooma. We turned off the answering system part of the phone and use the Ooma answering system instead. So far, we like this system very much. Each handset has a brightly lit dial when a button is pressed. We like the large date and time indicators in the brightly lit dial. Along with Ooma, the voice quality is exceptional. This system uses common replaceable batteries in the handsets.
#69769 by Davesworld
Sun Nov 28, 2010 3:26 pm
As far as Panasonic goes and HD voice, the only possibility is with the DECT Plus from Panasonic. The main difference would be that it (supposedly) uses the g.722 codec between the base and handset rather than g.726 of most DECT 6. Even so, Ooma demonstrated it a year ago with a corded phone I believe.