Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#68810 by redmaxx
Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:43 pm
I'm new to Ooma and I've got the basic setup working, i.e. I can make phone calls with a phone connected to the Telo. I do not have any local Telco servicing the house, so I'm OK there. When I plug the phone port of the Telo into the wall outlet, none of the other outlets get service. At best, I get a crackling sound from another outlet and even when the phone is hung up, the "Line In Use" indicator flashes.

The way this is wired is that I have a central wiring panel where all of the jacks in the house terminate. There is a Leviton telephone distribution panel, where all of the Cat 5e cables for phone service (there's a whole separate set of Cat5e lines for networking) plug into. I have disconnected the cable that has "Telco" written on it from the punchdown portion of the panel, leaving only the wires from the various rooms plugged in. Even if I just plug in the room with the Telo and the room where I'm trying to get a phone to work, I get nothing.

What more can I do so I can get phone service over the whole house?

Thanks!
#68873 by lbmofo
Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:45 pm
Ic that the pics get cut off unless going directly to them
http://i56.tinypic.com/18n5dv.jpg
http://i51.tinypic.com/20r387d.jpg

Looks like you got one of these: http://www.smarthomeusa.com/ShopByManuf ... 47609-EMP/

The punchdown is for incoming line (the blue wire bunch with wires showing, by the punchdown, is probably meant to connect to the telephone company) and 7 outgoing.
Those 7 outgoing should all be connected together so if you are feeding into the right voice wall jack in your room, you should get ooma dialtone in the other 6 voice wall jacks. Since you got data too, I am sure you have more than 1 wall jacks in your rooms; not all are for voice.