ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
aicitman
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:18 am

ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Post by aicitman » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:34 am

I just installed ooma, waited more than a half hour, and the red light won't stop blinking. What's the problem here?

now the specs:
the ooma is connected (wan port) to a verizon dsl router (about 1mb down, 450kb up). the lan port on the ooma is connected to a netgear wireless router. The computer connected the netgear router can access the internet fine, just a little slower speed.

the 1 and 2 lights are on, as well some random lights on the bottom. If I pick up the phone connected to the ooma, I get a busy tone. When I call the number from a different phone, I go straight to the message machine.

What is the problem????

beerman1957
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:21 pm

Re: ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Post by beerman1957 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:23 am

Have you tried putting the OOMA on the router? This is method 2B in the quick start manual.

aicitman
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:18 am

Re: ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Post by aicitman » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:45 pm

beerman1957 wrote:Have you tried putting the OOMA on the router? This is method 2B in the quick start manual.
Tried it. Worse than before. Can't even access setup.ooma.com. Although, the internet is much faster.

aicitman
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:18 am

Re: ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Post by aicitman » Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:36 pm

okay, I finally did it. (please restart my premier trial)

Why don't they tell you I have to disable the firewall? And why do I have to?

Jerry_NA
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:32 pm

Re: ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Post by Jerry_NA » Sat Nov 06, 2010 8:08 pm

You do NOT have to disable your firewall. In fact, that is very dangerous. You do have to open up one port in your firewall for your Telo to connect out. See http://ooma.custhelp.com/app/answers/de ... /related/1
Good luck.

aicitman
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:18 am

Re: ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Post by aicitman » Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:55 pm

I'm not so sure what you mean only one port. Over there they tell you to open about 20 ports. :cry: Which one do I have to open?

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Post by Aveamantium » Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:10 pm

aicitman wrote:I'm not so sure what you mean only one port. Over there they tell you to open about 20 ports. :cry: Which one do I have to open?
If your router's firewall is giving you issues then you'll either need to forward all those ports or assign a static IP to the Ooma device and then put that IP in the router's DMZ.
Go AVS!

aicitman
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:18 am

Re: ooma won't stop blinking their red light

Post by aicitman » Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:06 pm

I just got rid of Verizon :D
(http://www.ooma.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=10343 - I need some help there)

And I went to optimum :D
(no more hidden fees! 29.95 month and finished!)

And there are no firewall setting in the Motorola surfboard :D

(that was a simple solution)

p.s. don't worry about the firewall, the computer is almost never on, and it has eset

Post Reply