Ooma Telo consistently loses connection to base

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
danmiller3
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:52 am

Ooma Telo consistently loses connection to base

Post by danmiller3 » Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:01 am

Folks -
I've discussed this with tech support and their answer was that it has to do with my line quality. I am skeptical of this. Basically, my Telo loses it's connection to the base on a regular basis. It requires I power down the Telo and power it back up and then it works fine again for a few days before I have to repeat the steps.

Anyone else see this and have any ideas?

Thanks,
-Dan

dschmidt_2000
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:37 pm

Re: Ooma Telo consistently loses connection to base

Post by dschmidt_2000 » Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:11 am

The handset loses connection with the base? Yeah, that should not have anything to do with your line quality as that communication is just between the base and the handset.

danmiller3
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:52 am

Re: Ooma Telo consistently loses connection to base

Post by danmiller3 » Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:20 am

The handset basically returns to a mode where it doesn't know it has a line. It won't get a dialtone and the screen just says:

Telo 100
Handset 1
Date and Time

ntoy

Re: Ooma Telo consistently loses connection to base

Post by ntoy » Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:23 am

Hello Dan,

Is the telo handset on the latest software update?
I assumed you tried a factory reset on the handset & tried re-reigstering it?

One other thing you can try:

Connect a phone to the "phone" port on the telo, pick up phone and dial *#*#191 - (this should reset the telo handset as well)
Then, you will need to re-register your telo handset.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Ooma Telo consistently loses connection to base

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:27 am

FYI to re register:
When the handset is reset and goes into registration mode, hold the ANTENNA button on the telo about 3 seconds. This should make the antenna light blink fast. This will put the Telo in registering mode.
The handset should then pick up on this and start the registering process.
It will ask for your PIN number, the PIN number is found at www.myooma.com
Go to ACCOUNT / SYSTEM

If the handset doesn't go into registration mode right away, turn it off, then back on and attempt the registration mode again.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

Post Reply