Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
fonze2
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:00 pm

Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by fonze2 » Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:08 pm

Hi,
I just got my telo a week or two ago and been having a problem with it resetting and not coming back on. Sometimes I will
just pass by and notice the 1&2 lights are solid and I have to unplug and plug the the wire in the back to get it to reset.
Anyone know a way to get the telo to not do this? I cant find anything on the boards about this kind of problem. only thing i can think of is the ip lease is getting renewed and screwing up the telo.

thanks for the help

jhphone
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by jhphone » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:49 pm

I think I have a similar problem.

My connection path is Cable -- Surfboard modem -- Ooma -- Router -- PCs.

Every few days, I lose Internet service. My PC and laptop can no longer see the Comcast modem: 192.168.100.1 times out.

Bottom line is the Ooma simply stops working at random. I then unplug Ooma and plug it in again. After the re-boot process completes, all is well.

Another Ooma disappointment. :(

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by lbmofo » Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:44 pm

jhphone wrote:I think I have a similar problem.

My connection path is Cable -- Surfboard modem -- Ooma -- Router -- PCs.

Every few days, I lose Internet service. My PC and laptop can no longer see the Comcast modem: 192.168.100.1 times out.

Bottom line is the Ooma simply stops working at random. I then unplug Ooma and plug it in again. After the re-boot process completes, all is well.

Another Ooma disappointment. :(
Not sure why this is. Here are a couple of things you can do right away to optimize your setup.

Use Built in Modem Port MAC Address instead of Automatic
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8045

Restore Factory Setting of your Cable modem and reboot it
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9142&p=63650#p63650
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

fonze2
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:00 pm

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by fonze2 » Tue Sep 07, 2010 6:25 pm

ok i changed the telo to use the built in mac address . will let you know if that helps

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by lbmofo » Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:17 pm

You do a hard reset on the cable modem too? This will make your modem re-learn your line properties for optimal performance.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

jhphone
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by jhphone » Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:23 pm

lbmofo wrote: ...
Not sure why this is. Here are a couple of things you can do right away to optimize your setup.

Use Built in Modem Port MAC Address instead of Automatic
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8045

Restore Factory Setting of your Cable modem and reboot it
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9142&p=63650#p63650
Thanks for the suggestion -- it helped.

When I followed the "Use Built in Modem Port MAC Address" process I noticed that a LAN cable was not seated properly. I inserted it fully and haven't had the loss-of-Internet access problem again.

I still have the serious voice delay problem. Changing the MAC address and completely rebooting the modem didn't help.

BTW. You can test your call delay by calling this echo back number.
To test voice quality dial the echo back number 909-390-0003

Note: It may not ring, and no one says hello. Just wait a few seconds for it to connect, then talk and it will echo back your voice.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2814

You won't hear anything after the ring tone stops. An easy way to "time" the delay is to repeatedly make a click sound and notice the delay -- like a slow ping-pong game.

fonze2
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:00 pm

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by fonze2 » Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:36 pm

ok but now i have another problem thats been ongoing. my calls get dropped in the middle of a conversation.

my upload speed is about 480k i have the ooma QOS upload/download setting at 0. what else can i do?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by lbmofo » Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:42 pm

If your ooma is between your modem and router, set the upstream QoS to 80% of your measured speed.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

fonze2
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:00 pm

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by fonze2 » Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:45 pm

my ooma is connected right to my internet modem. its a timewarner issued modem/router. dont have a router


my internet vitals seem ok

VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 1.0 ms
Jitter: server --> you: 2.3 ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Estimated MOS score: 4.1

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 2480048 bps
Upload speed: 493408 bps
Download quality of service: 98 %
Upload quality of service: 99 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 91 ms
Average download pause: 9 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 103 ms
Average round trip time to server: 107 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 28800000bps
Route concurrency: 11.612679
Download TCP forced idle: 83 %
Maximum route speed: 5090096bps

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Telo resets ny itself and only 1 1&2 light on

Post by lbmofo » Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:24 pm

Max TCP is below 100 but still seems high. The 2 roundtrip time seems very high too. I suppose that contributes to lag.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply