Ooma Telo for Panasonic KX-TA824 PBX?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
jbschwartz
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:17 pm

Ooma Telo for Panasonic KX-TA824 PBX?

Post by jbschwartz » Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:36 pm

Hi Folks,

Brand new to Ooma. Just got Ooma Telo today. Before buying, I read discussions about folks successfully supporting three lines using Ooma and the Panasonic KX-TA824. We're talking home office with both me and my wife needing dedicated line, plus the home line.

Now that I'm re-reading them, I'm realizing that they are using Hub and Scout products. I purchased the Telo product, which I figured was the latest most powerful/capable, and thus able to do what the Hub and Scout could do. Is that a wrong assumption?

Big Picture, I am looking to have the Ooma Telo + KX-TA824 let me have three phone lines. At the moment, one of the three lines is POTS and two are using Comcast Digital Voice. I plan to discontinue both. Best case, I get to use all three lines as described. I can also settle for having just 2 lines if the three lines is not possible...but that sort of negates the need for using the Panasonic PBX.

Am I on the right track?

Thanks

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Telo for Panasonic KX-TA824 PBX?

Post by murphy » Fri Sep 03, 2010 3:22 pm

If you need three physical phone lines the only way to do that with the Telo is to buy 3 Telos.
You can have a second line with a Telo but the only way to use both lines at the same time is with a Telo handset.

With a hub and a Scout you could have two physical phone lines.
With a hub and 2 Scouts you could have three physical phone lines but only two of them could be in use at the same time.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

jbschwartz
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Ooma Telo for Panasonic KX-TA824 PBX?

Post by jbschwartz » Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:11 pm

Thanks very much. Clearly, the Telo is not what I needed, then. A quick check on Craiglist reveals many options for buying Core or individual Hubs and Scouts. While I need 3 lines for incoming calls, (2 home office, 1 personal), we use them infrequently: zero to 30 minutes per day and never at the same time. In that case, once I return the ooma telo to Costco, would a hub and two scouts do the trick? Would this require three agreements with Ooma?

Finally, it just occurred to me that with a PBX such as the Panasonic KX-TA824, can we share one business line and use the automated attendant to direct calls. Is this way off base?

Jonathan

jbschwartz
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Ooma Telo for Panasonic KX-TA824 PBX?

Post by jbschwartz » Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:23 am

An update...Murphy wrote,'If you need three physical phone lines..."

I need three telephone numbers for incoming calls (2 for home businesses and 1 for home personal). I am not sure if that is the same thing as three physical phone lines.

Does that change the answer at all?

Thx

J

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Telo for Panasonic KX-TA824 PBX?

Post by murphy » Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:58 am

The question is how many simultaneous phone calls do you need?
A Telo with two Personalized handsets can handle three phone numbers but only two simultaneous calls are possible.
The PBX is of no use to you in this environment.
If you want to keep the PBX and drive three incoming phone lines on the PBX, you need three Telos.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: Ooma Telo for Panasonic KX-TA824 PBX?

Post by ajw522 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 11:03 am

If money is not an issue, I would recommend getting 3 Telos because if you browse these forums, many people, including myself, experienced static on the non-Ooma end while using the Ooma Scouts. Using the Hub or the Telo did not have any static on the non-Ooma end.
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

Post Reply