New area code

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
davidv43
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:20 pm

New area code

Post by davidv43 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:22 pm

I recently moved from Alabama to Missouri. I would like to have a "local" phone number with the appropriate area code. Is there a way to change my area code?

Thank you,
dv

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: New area code

Post by lbmofo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:29 pm

You can call customer service to change your number. There is a fee of $19.99.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8583#p60184
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

davidv43
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:20 pm

Re: New area code

Post by davidv43 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:45 pm

I guess there's nothing new with OOMA ... every stick of butter, every napkin costs extra. So much for "getting rid of phone charges".

:x

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: New area code

Post by lbmofo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:47 pm

There is cost associated with number change so ooma has to recover that somehow.

A company charging $30, $40 or even more per month can afford to eat this cost and not charge you.

Even Google Voice charges $10 for number change (they don't even have outgoing callerid name; costs money to revise this).

Did you see SouthSound's alternative option using Google Voice (right below the $19.99 cost post)?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

davidv43
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:20 pm

Re: New area code

Post by davidv43 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:08 pm

doesn't matter anyway, neither google nor OOMA can get any new phone numbers with 573 area code. Seems odd that a city of 1,000,000+ can find phone numbers, but a city area with 100,000 can't.

oh, well

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: New area code

Post by lbmofo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:15 pm

Take a look at this; seems they have a lot of prefixes in this area code so not sure why numbers are scarce.

http://phones.whitepages.com/573
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

davidv43
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:20 pm

Re: New area code

Post by davidv43 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:39 pm

there are some things I'll never understand ...

Post Reply