Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#62120 by rick917
Sat Aug 14, 2010 8:07 pm
Hello...I am new to Ooma and I am looking forward to saving some money. I have installed the Telo and handset and both of my previous numbers (VoIP) have been successfully ported. I cannot however use my second line on my Telo. I have distributed my primary number through the house but cannot seemingly assign the second number to the Telo handset. Help!!! :o
#62126 by murphy
Sun Aug 15, 2010 2:36 am
With the two numbers in shared mode a call to either number should ring all of your phones.
A call using the second number's caller ID can be made by dialing **1 before you dial the number.
Note that the lines and numbers are not related. The first call will always use line 1. A second call while line 1 is in use will use line 2.

If you want to lock the second number to a handset you have to create a personal device using the desired handset and then assign the second number to the personal device.
#62140 by highq
Sun Aug 15, 2010 8:09 am
rick917 wrote:That is exactly what I want to do, lock the second number to the handset. How do I do that?

#62143 by rick917
Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:07 am
Completed successfully. I actually had the install correct to include the association, the confusion came when I tried to dial from my primary number to my secondary number. Apparently you cannot do that on the Ooma system. Tech support worked called both numbers and the calls came through with no problem, even on the telo handset. A slight drawback from my other system where we could dial from one number to the other number within the house but I think everyone will be fine, they can use the intercom system... :P
#62151 by southsound
Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:17 pm