New Install, AT&T DSL OOMA Hub no internet

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: New Install, AT&T DSL OOMA Hub no internet

Post by lbmofo » Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:30 pm

If you have cable internet, then the device that connects to your cable outlet is the modem. Likewise, if you have DSL, the device that's connected to your phone jack is your DSL modem. You would want to have your ooma device connect to the output of the modem. Then, connect your router or computer to your ooma device. Ooma just needs the internet to work (ie the modem has to be up and running).
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7261
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: New Install, AT&T DSL OOMA Hub no internet

Post by murphy » Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:16 pm

A PC is not required except maybe during initial setup.

If you have a modem / router combo box, you only have one box.
If you have a modem and a router, you have two boxes.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

jknp
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 am

Re: New Install, AT&T DSL OOMA Hub no internet

Post by jknp » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:12 pm

Thanks for all your help...

Post Reply