Networded Printer with ATT 2wire

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
****
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 2:52 pm

Networded Printer with ATT 2wire

Post by **** » Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:52 am

Set up Telo without issue. Connected Telo to ATT 2wire modem/router combo DSL as recommended in option 2B (Telo connects to router/modem then 'porn machine' er..uh 'computer' connects to 'home network' port on Telo) ...
I'm almost positive that I used the printer once with this setup and it worked fine.(?)
But now the printer can not be found (using any program to print from).
Of course when I disconnect the 'computer' from the Telo & plug it directly into the ATT router/modem the printer works fine.

Ooma tech support could only offer "Well, now you'll get optimum internet connection speeds".

I read a post here about setting up the ATT 2wire to run 'bridged' but wasn't sure if they were talking about a similar issue to mine.

Should I just not worry about it? I'm not a gamer or sharing large files etc. But I do download shows off of iTunes, is that enough to interrupt a voip conversation ?

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Networded Printer with ATT 2wire

Post by murphy » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:52 am

Do not connect your computer to the Ooma Home port when Ooma is behind a router.
You are double NATing the computer. The routing rules to get around that situation are very complicated and not worth the effort. Once the Ooma box is configured there is no need to have anything connected to the Home port.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

****
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Networded Printer with ATT 2wire

Post by **** » Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:21 am

murphy wrote:Do not connect your computer to the Ooma Home port when Ooma is behind a router.
You are double NATing the computer.
Thank You ! Excellent answer.

erics
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Networded Printer with ATT 2wire

Post by erics » Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:07 am

Have you considered placing the 2Wire into bridge mode (this would allow for QOS on the ooma if your router does not provide this? You can find the instructions herehttp://www.dslreports.com/faq/10495 .

Post Reply