Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#60843 by meridianbizsys
Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:14 am
Hi - I am a brand new user to OOMA with a Telo and a Telo handset. I have two lines (two phone numbers), one for business (I am a QuickBooks consultant) and one for home. Previously, both numbers were with Vonage and I have Verizon FIOS. I ported the business line about a month ago to test quality etc. and to see if I liked this product (I do have premier also). Before I port the home line and get rid of Vonage all together, can someone please give me precise directions on how this would work? It does not sound like the Second Line feature is what I want.

I'd like each line to operate separtely (ie: be talking to mom on my home phone on my left ear while also talking to a client in my right ear). I have a Uniden cordless phone which I was planning to just plug into the "phone" or "wall" port in back of the Telo and was hoping that I would be "good to go". OH....I was also hoping to use a splitter on the "phone" or "wall" port to use my fax machine too. OH#2 - does anyone know where the setting is to identify my business name when I call a client? I'm hearing "I didn't pick up your call becasue it did not come thru with an ID". Thanks so much - Marie.
#60845 by murphy
Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:39 am
Unless you are integrating a land line, it sounds like you are not, the wall port on the Telo is of no use to you at all.
The only way to talk on two lines at the same time with a Telo is to have at least one Telo handset.

Instant second line allows two calls at the same time on the same phone number but you must have a Telo handset to do that.
You need Premier to have two phone numbers so you will have instant second line available whether or not you use it.
#60847 by meridianbizsys
Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:44 am