DSL modem/router: Ethernet switch after Telo for computers?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Sevillano
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:55 am

DSL modem/router: Ethernet switch after Telo for computers?

Post by Sevillano » Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:03 am

I have a Westell Versalink 327W combined DSL modem and router. The instructions say to plug the Telo into the modem/router and then to plug the computer into the Telo. I have two computers in my home network. Should I get an Ethernet hub or switch so I can put them both after the Telo?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: DSL modem/router: Ethernet switch after Telo for computers?

Post by murphy » Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:05 am

If you have more ports available on the modem/router, connect both computers to the modem/router and leave the Home port of the Telo empty.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Sevillano
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:55 am

Re: DSL modem/router: Ethernet switch after Telo for computers?

Post by Sevillano » Sat Jul 24, 2010 7:56 am

Thank you for your reply, murphy.

The instructions in the Quick Start Guide say, "Option 2B. Connect behind your integrated modem/router. Connect your computer to Ooma Telo. If your computer is connected directly to your router, disconnect the end plugged into the router and plug it into the Home Network port. This allows Ooma to prioritize your phone calls."

To begin with, I had my two computers and the Telo all plugged into the modem/router. On at least two occasions, Ooma started sending calls to voicemail during heavy computer use. Don't you think in my case, with a 1 mps download and a 384 kbps upload DSL connection, that I might get better service by putting both computers behind the Telo? Right now I have one computer plugged into the router and one plugged into the Telo.

Post Reply