Premiere - Second Line - Install Questions

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Gearscout
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 3:40 pm

Premiere - Second Line - Install Questions

Post by Gearscout » Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:45 am

FIRST QUESTION

First, my Ooma second number which I was repeatedly offered as part of the Premiere setup is in the system and registered. But when I try to go to it in preferences and change the ring tone, I am not allowed to SAVE the changes. Error Message:

"There were problems with the following fields:
Could not update the number. You have no Call Forwarding Settings."

But I do have call forwarding on the main number. No other number is shown on the Call Forwarding menu page in my.ooma

Is this because I'm still in the Premier Trial -- or is there something awry with the setup of the second number that I did through Customer Support? (They finally found a number in my general area.)

SECOND QUESTION

Is the Ooma Second line a "virtual" second line or a real physical line separate from the first one?

In other words, my hardwired system had two phone lines. 4 wires essentially went through the house and Line 1 and Line 2 were always available. Most of the phones were single line models (wired and wireless) that just used the main number I've ported with Ooma. The second line was reserved for Fax and I had specifically wired a telephone junction box to deliver that line to the Fax machine. But line two was available anywhere in the house as a separate physical line, even in the standard phone jacks. (You just needed a two-line telephone handset to utilize it.)

Will Ooma premiere allow to use the same wiring scheme? My number will be ported in 5 days time and I want to clear up the wiring questions in advance.

What I really want is to be able to have the main number ring throughout the house and the "Second Line" directed toward the fax machine which won't ring elsewhere.


Thanks!
Gearscout
------------
Ooma Telo
Atlanta, GA

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Premiere - Second Line - Install Questions

Post by murphy » Sat Jul 17, 2010 9:03 am

The second number can only be assigned to an Ooma handset.
There is no provision to feed in wall wiring from the second number.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

cabasili
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 8:47 am

Re: Premiere - Second Line - Install Questions

Post by cabasili » Sat Nov 06, 2010 8:59 am

Can you change the second line virtual number once selected?

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Premiere - Second Line - Install Questions

Post by southsound » Sat Nov 06, 2010 10:37 am

cabasili wrote:Can you change the second line virtual number once selected?
Yes. Call ooma customer service at 888 711-6662. There is a $19.95 charge.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Lapwolf
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 7:03 pm
Location: Northern California

Re: Premiere - Second Line - Install Questions

Post by Lapwolf » Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:08 pm

cabasili wrote:Can you change the second line virtual number once selected?
Not true. I have a hub/scout combo with my second number provisioned to the hub and the primary number provisioned to the scout via wall wiring.

This setup also breaks out myooma.com to separate logins for each number.

Givmeabrek
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:32 pm

Re: Premiere - Second Line - Install Questions

Post by Givmeabrek » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:14 am

He has the telo. There is no second physical line. :cool:

Post Reply