Network 2 secure?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
texasdaddy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:23 am

Network 2 secure?

Post by texasdaddy » Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:31 am

I just installed ooma, and tested it - works great - but now I noticed my internet connection says "Network 2" instead of my former home network name. I have a D-link combination modem/router, and the ooma is between it and my computer. Do I set this as a public or home network, and is this firewall protected?

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Network 2 secure?

Post by murphy » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:07 am

Connect your computer to the router and leave the Home port of the Ooma box empty.
If the modem/router box only has one LAN port, get an inexpensive switch to expand it to more than 1.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

texasdaddy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:23 am

Re: Network 2 secure?

Post by texasdaddy » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:08 am

Done. Still working. This thing is pretty cool...

Post Reply