Instant 2nd line and distributed dialtone

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
dalley333
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 1:27 pm

Instant 2nd line and distributed dialtone

Post by dalley333 » Sat Jun 12, 2010 1:29 pm

I have an Ooma Hub/Scout and use the instant 2nd line feature quite a bit. I changed my setup to distribute the Ooma dialtone to all phone jacks in my house and now the instant 2nd line is not working. I'm wondering if I've done something wrong or if it's not possible to use instant 2nd line with distributed dialtone. I've contacted Ooma support about this and they were CLUELESS!! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Instant 2nd line and distributed dialtone

Post by lbmofo » Sat Jun 12, 2010 2:15 pm

Use a duplex splitter (like the one that came with your ooma) to combine the phone + wall port before feeding into your walljack, then your Scout would work.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Instant 2nd line and distributed dialtone

Post by southsound » Sat Jun 12, 2010 3:13 pm

Do you have DSL? DSL and the HPNA that the scout uses don't play well together if on the same pair of wires.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

dalley333
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 1:27 pm

Re: Instant 2nd line and distributed dialtone

Post by dalley333 » Sat Jun 12, 2010 9:32 pm

lbmofo wrote:Use a duplex splitter (like the one that came with your ooma) to combine the phone + wall port before feeding into your walljack, then your Scout would work.
This worked perfectly, thank you SO much!!
southsound wrote:Do you have DSL? DSL and the HPNA that the scout uses don't play well together if on the same pair of wires.
I do not have DSL.

Post Reply