Installation Help

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
crazygrow
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 8:51 am

Installation Help

Post by crazygrow » Sat May 29, 2010 8:57 am

My phone number ported four days ago and I still haven't gotten Ooma to work, so I'm feeling disappointed at this point since I am somewhat technically savvy and was promised this would be easy.

My setup is the following:

Comcast cable to Comcast Arris modem model #TM402P (previously this box managed my Comcast phone line which was disconnected four days ago) to Ooma Hub (I have hub/scout combo) to laptop computer.

When I do the final reboot of everything, everything boots up, the Ooma box does the red flashing for a minute and then it appears to turn off - no more lights at all. I get a busy signal through the phone. Did I get a defective Ooma box? Or if the box isn't getting the signal, does that make the box turn off automatically?

Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.

murphy
Posts: 7241
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Installation Help

Post by murphy » Sat May 29, 2010 8:59 am

On the right side of the box make sure that the intensity knob is turned up.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

crazygrow
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 8:51 am

Re: Installation Help

Post by crazygrow » Sat May 29, 2010 9:00 am

Ok, here is my stupid answer - my wife just found a phone off the hook in our nanny's room - likely off the hook for days. It now works. :cry:
Thanks Murphy and others.

Post Reply