New Ooma Telo Installation help

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Foralis
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:55 pm

New Ooma Telo Installation help

Post by Foralis » Sat Apr 03, 2010 6:01 pm

So I'm trying to install the system for my parents... Plugged it in, got the ethernet in, everything as it should be. So I then wait the '15-30 minutes' needed to update the software, etc. However, even after said amount of time, the Ooma logo on my Telo is still blinking red. The guide said that if the bottom row of lights was all lit up, that would mean that my system was still updating, but the lights were never on, just that constantly blinking red logo. So I unplugged everything, and tried again, same rapidly blinking red logo. So then I asked myself if the system was even updating, since that row of blue lights wasn't on, and decided to try it out by re-doing the entire procedure, except this time leaving out the internet part. I'm sure you can guess, same blinking red logo. Any help? It would be greatly appreciated, thanks


-Foralis

swong
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:15 pm

Re: New Ooma Telo Installation help

Post by swong » Sat Apr 03, 2010 6:23 pm

Foralis-
Scroll thru some of the posts on this forum and in one of the posts I mentioned I also has problems identical to yours. In my case i started my setup and activation on a Monday Morning 0730 EST. All I had was the same identical blinking red ooma light and nothing else. I took note Ooma support was open for business at 1100 EST (which is 9am PST) since I reside in NYC. A little before 08:00 AM PST my Ooma Telo started updating and within minutes my firmware completed and activation went as documented. Point I am making is the activation server might be unavailable except during Ooma business hours. Anyone care to chime in?...
Image

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: New Ooma Telo Installation help

Post by Groundhound » Sun Apr 04, 2010 2:38 am

Foralis wrote:So I'm trying to install the system for my parents... Plugged it in, got the ethernet in, everything as it should be. So I then wait the '15-30 minutes' needed to update the software, etc. However, even after said amount of time, the Ooma logo on my Telo is still blinking red. The guide said that if the bottom row of lights was all lit up, that would mean that my system was still updating, but the lights were never on, just that constantly blinking red logo. So I unplugged everything, and tried again, same rapidly blinking red logo. So then I asked myself if the system was even updating, since that row of blue lights wasn't on, and decided to try it out by re-doing the entire procedure, except this time leaving out the internet part. I'm sure you can guess, same blinking red logo. Any help? It would be greatly appreciated, thanks
Please describe exactly how you have your Telo connected relative to your modem and/or router. The more details the better.

Hollywood
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:05 pm

Re: New Ooma Telo Installation help

Post by Hollywood » Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:47 am

did you activate the Ooma on ooma.com > activate?

Post Reply