Ooma Scout stopped working

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
mrgoodwrench69
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:06 am

Ooma Scout stopped working

Post by mrgoodwrench69 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 6:54 am

My DSL speed recently dropped off by over 50% recently. After troubleshooting I changed out the "white splitter" that came with the unit for use with the scout, with a DSL filter I had on hand, and that cured the speed issue. Now my DSL speed is back to normal , my ooma hub works great, but the scout will not function. Do I need another generic phone splitter, like the one that came with the unit? What kind of splitter is? Thanks for any info.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Scout stopped working

Post by murphy » Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:17 am

You can't have a DSL signal on the same wires that you use to connect the hub to the scout. They are incompatible with each other. The ideal situation is to split off the DSL signal where the line comes into the house and run it only to the DSL modem and no where else.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

mrgoodwrench69
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Ooma Scout stopped working

Post by mrgoodwrench69 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:52 am

I forgot to mention, I only have DSL, no phone landline .

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Scout stopped working

Post by murphy » Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:59 am

mrgoodwrench69 wrote:I forgot to mention, I only have DSL, no phone landline .
Doesn't matter. If you are using the house wiring to connect the hub to the scout, the DSL signal can not be on those wires.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

mrgoodwrench69
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Ooma Scout stopped working

Post by mrgoodwrench69 » Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:11 am

Up and running again..the speed issue was with my modem, now back to using the splitter that came with ooma hub, running line marked" wall" back to the splitter sending signal through my house wiring to the ooma scout. All is well...

Post Reply