Is Ooma out of 323 Area Code numbers?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
sholom
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: Is Ooma out of 323 Area Code numbers?

Post by sholom » Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:34 pm

oomg wrote:What is you location zip code and local area prefix?
zip is 90004 areacode: 323

Now going on 6 days with nothing to show for it

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Is Ooma out of 323 Area Code numbers?

Post by southsound » Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:55 pm

zip is 90004 areacode: 323


Just a thought since you are getting a new number... I have been using Google Voice as a front-end to my ooma systems for about 6 months. It really has no downside: free, gives you the option to set up call handling based on groups that you select (in other words, work can only call from 8:00 to 5:00, then it goes to voicemail), can ring your cell and your home, etc. It even has a transcription service that sends an email with an attempt at the voicemail content.

I just checked and GV has a lot of 323 numbers in your zip code. Most are 323-761-xxxx. You can choose from their entire list to get a number you like. This way, you could have a number today that was local and if at some future point ooma gives you a number you like, you can forward your GV number to it or just give out the new number.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

User avatar
Cowpoke
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:19 pm

Re: Is Ooma out of 323 Area Code numbers?

Post by Cowpoke » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:40 pm

Hi sholom,

I had similar problems with my Ooma installation. I also (rather quickly) blamed Ooma. However, when I checked my u/l d/l speeds, the problem was clearly not with Ooma (yet).

Since then I upgraded my internet service connection, and my Ooma has had me smiling. (I also purchased the Telo recently, though not 9 handsets.)

Check your u/l d/l speeds with one of the internet accessible speed checkers. They tend to inform whether or not your connection can handle VoIP.

...ride on...
Cowpoke

oomg
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:59 am
Location: SoCal -- L.A.

Re: Is Ooma out of 323 Area Code numbers?

Post by oomg » Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:59 am

sholom wrote:
oomg wrote:What is you location zip code and local area prefix?
zip is 90004 areacode: 323

Now going on 6 days with nothing to show for it
Not quite sure why you are experiencing this problem. I just checked and there are about 20 numbers shown in your area, all of which are (323) 952-xxxx. Although the 952 prefix may not be the same as your existing prefix, the dialing area is the same which also means that those that could dial your existing number toll-free, will not incur a charge to dial the 952 prefix.
oomg -- Voice Over Internet Person

I've learned a lot here... two months ago I didn't even know how to spell VOIP and now I are one.

Post Reply