would new cable modem help?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
just4fn
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: The State of Washington

would new cable modem help?

Post by just4fn » Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:19 pm

I am using a comcast cable modem that is about 5 years old. My QOS is very erratic. sometimes it's 96% sometimes 45%. The jitter ranges for 2.2 to 7or 8. Do you think a new cable modem would help? I did but a new dlink dr655 router and it works fine.
Ooma Telo, Hub.
1958 was a very good year!
No cell phone , no land line- just Ooma
all my eggs in one Ooma basket
I lied- my wife has a cell, but not me!! I like my privacy and not being attached to a phone.

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: would new cable modem help?

Post by dtalwar » Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:54 pm

There may be other problems that are giving you those kinds of results. Could you post the signal levels at the modem?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: would new cable modem help?

Post by murphy » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:47 am

just4fn wrote:I am using a comcast cable modem that is about 5 years old. My QOS is very erratic. sometimes it's 96% sometimes 45%. The jitter ranges for 2.2 to 7or 8. Do you think a new cable modem would help? I did but a new dlink dr655 router and it works fine.
If you are renting that cable modem from Comcast, take it to their local office and tell them you want a newer one. You don't have to explain why. That's the only upside to renting IMHO.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

ladysman
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:27 pm

Re: would new cable modem help?

Post by ladysman » Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:05 am

I can tell you that I went to a house last week (comcast user) with back speeds, high pings, etc. Multiple power cycles didn't help. I had them buy the new Motorola 6120 modem and their speeds and service skyrocketed. It's an expensive modem but it's future proof as it has DOCSIS 3.0. Highly recommend.
ooma Telo connected to house phone panel
Port Requested - 2/1/10
Port Completed - 2/20/10
Comcast ISP

User avatar
hackerguy
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 10:28 pm
Location: Covington, TN

Re: would new cable modem help?

Post by hackerguy » Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:38 pm

Glad to hear your good experience with the Motorola SB6120 modem. I also have an older modem that I am renting from Comcast. The rent was $3/month. Then without warning they increased it to $5/month. So I ordered the SB6120 today from Amazon for $94.10 with free shipping. I did a lot of research and it comes highly recommended.

ladysman
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:27 pm

Re: would new cable modem help?

Post by ladysman » Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:23 am

hackerguy wrote:Glad to hear your good experience with the Motorola SB6120 modem. I also have an older modem that I am renting from Comcast. The rent was $3/month. Then without warning they increased it to $5/month. So I ordered the SB6120 today from Amazon for $94.10 with free shipping. I did a lot of research and it comes highly recommended.

No problem. I need to get one myself but my speeds are so good, I don't want to screw up a good thing. :) I have now installed 2 of these, I did another one with good results. Same position as you on the $5 as well all hate giving comcast anymore money. ;)
ooma Telo connected to house phone panel
Port Requested - 2/1/10
Port Completed - 2/20/10
Comcast ISP

Post Reply