Testing a Ooma Hub without activating it?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
blacknumberone
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 11:46 am

Testing a Ooma Hub without activating it?

Post by blacknumberone » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:30 pm

I just got a new Ooma Core and the Hub has something heavy and loose inside the unit, and rattles inside the case of the Hub. (The unit my friend has does not have anything loose in his.) Is there a way to test the Hub without activating it? When I connect the power cord I do get the flashing red lights... (I called the Ooma customer service number 888-711-6662, but I keep getting a message saying the number has been disconnected...!???)

Thanks,
BNO

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Testing a Ooma Hub without activating it?

Post by Groundhound » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:40 pm

Since there's something obviously loose inside, I would exchange it at the retailer you purchased it from and not bother with testing it to see if it might work anyway.

blacknumberone
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 11:46 am

Re: Testing a Ooma Hub without activating it?

Post by blacknumberone » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:45 pm

The retailer does not have anymore Ooma Core units (sold out), they just have the Telo units...

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Testing a Ooma Hub without activating it?

Post by Groundhound » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:54 pm

I wouldn't keep an obviously defective unit. I'd return it for a refund and either buy it from someone else, wait for restock, or get a Telo - but that's just me....

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Testing a Ooma Hub without activating it?

Post by hpepper » Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:10 pm

blacknumberone wrote:... (I called the Ooma customer service number 888-711-6662, but I keep getting a message saying the number has been disconnected...!???)

Thanks,
BNO
Ooma had a brief problem with their CS number and was fixed about 15 minutes after you submitted your comment.

Post Reply