How to install Modem-Router-Telo

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
whnovak
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:47 am

How to install Modem-Router-Telo

Post by whnovak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:56 am

I have installed Modem-Telo-Router and this appears to have reduced internet download speeds. How do I install Modem-Router-Telo?

mthomtech
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: How to install Modem-Router-Telo

Post by mthomtech » Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:47 am

Just hook Telo to one of your router ports (or data port in the house that's connected to the router). How fast if your internet connection? If you have plenty of bandwidth upstream and downstream, this configuration works fine.
Ooma Customer since March 2009
Ooma Hardware: Hub/Scout(2) and Telo
Premier Member

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: How to install Modem-Router-Telo

Post by hpepper » Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:54 am

whnovak wrote:I have installed Modem-Telo-Router and this appears to have reduced internet download speeds. How do I install Modem-Router-Telo?
I found putting MODEM > ROUTER > TELO works fine for me and I use QOS in the router. I give high priority to the port the Telo is on and low priority to everything else and my Internet access speeds seem to be fine, while calls are crystal clear.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: How to install Modem-Router-Telo

Post by amoney » Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:28 pm

I would recommend trying to figure the possible issue out. You may be sabatoging your call quality if there is a issue.

If your not on a call and your internet appears slow then that should not be. Other people have had similar experiences and discovered a bigger issue that was corrected.

First thing you need to get speed/performance readings.

With just your computer connected to the modem check the following:

http://www.speakeasy.net

http://whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html

then repeat with modem>ooma>computer, then add in your router (modem>ooma>router>computer) and test and see.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

whnovak
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:47 am

Re: How to install Modem-Router-Telo

Post by whnovak » Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:15 am

I have connected Telo (to Internet) to Router Port 1 and get red blinking symbol on Telo. Router is connected to modem (internet). Any suggestions?

ntoy

Re: How to install Modem-Router-Telo

Post by ntoy » Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:36 am

Hello whnovak,

Logfile appears to show that your Ooma is up & running.
Sometimes, the firmware updates take a little time to update especially when
the device is first plugged in.

whnovak
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:47 am

Re: How to install Modem-Router-Telo

Post by whnovak » Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:26 pm

Hpepper,

How do I set the router priority as you suggest?

Thanks

Post Reply