QWest tells me separating DSL not req'd for number porting

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
sputicus
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:44 am

QWest tells me separating DSL not req'd for number porting

Post by sputicus » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:26 am

I just called QWest and told them I was going to port my number to another service, but I wanted to keep my DSL, so I wanted my services separated. The agent told me that doing so was not necessary. When the number port takes place, a new number will be assigned to my Quest voice service and both the voice and DSL service will remain active. I will then have to call back and terminate my voice service, if that is what I want to do.

Anyone else had this experience or have been successful with this approach?
Last edited by sputicus on Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

kruegs
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: QWest tells me separtaing DSL not req'd for number porting

Post by kruegs » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:37 am

Yes, I can 100% confirm that is the case (for me at least). I ported my phone number away from Qwest last week and it went without a hitch... no need to separate services. They will give you a "dummy" number for your dry loop DSL after the port completes. Sit back and relax... no need to separate the services!

sputicus
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:44 am

Re: QWest tells me separating DSL not req'd for number porting

Post by sputicus » Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:08 pm

Just finishing up this thread. Last Friday number port completed. I tried calling myself from my mobile phone when I woke up and got "number disconnected," then by the time I left for work dialing myself went straight through to my ooma line.

I called Qwest today, Monday, to disconnect the voice line, and they told me that it had already been done, and I should now be charged only $28/month for my internet service.

In 6 months time I should have recovered my investment in the Ooma equipment.

scoutconnor
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Upstate NY

Re: QWest tells me separating DSL not req'd for number porting

Post by scoutconnor » Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:47 pm

sputicus wrote:Just finishing up this thread. Last Friday number port completed. I tried calling myself from my mobile phone when I woke up and got "number disconnected," then by the time I left for work dialing myself went straight through to my ooma line.

I called Qwest today, Monday, to disconnect the voice line, and they told me that it had already been done, and I should now be charged only $28/month for my internet service.

In 6 months time I should have recovered my investment in the Ooma equipment.
It is great when people ask questions, get answers, and then post a confirmed solution to their original question. This helps make the forums more valuable as a resource of information for people.
Although I don't work for Ooma, thanks for your conclusion post!

Post Reply