Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
max232
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:51 pm

Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by max232 » Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:59 pm

I have just installed the ooma telo. I have 20 mbps internet service via cable.

I can make and receive calls. But no one can hear me. I can hear them fine. I am using a Panasonic wireless Dect set up. I am fairly tech savy but completely stumped. Any ideas?

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by Leeway » Tue Feb 16, 2010 7:50 pm

max232 wrote:I have just installed the ooma telo. I have 20 mbps internet service via cable.

I can make and receive calls. But no one can hear me. I can hear them fine. I am using a Panasonic wireless Dect set up. I am fairly tech savy but completely stumped. Any ideas?

As always, my first thought is to reboot the Telo. A reboot can do wonders.

Donna

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by amoney » Wed Feb 17, 2010 4:57 am

Just so we have a bigger picture...

landline integrated or not?

ooma before or after the router?

try a different phone?
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

max232
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:51 pm

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by max232 » Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:46 pm

amoney wrote:Just so we have a bigger picture...

landline integrated or not?

ooma before or after the router?

try a different phone?
Integrated cable modem and router (after router). No landline integrated. Tried a different phone...same issue.

New development: Now a person on the receiving end of an ooma call can hear me for about 10 seconds...then they can't. I can still hear them the whole time.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by amoney » Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:59 pm

max232 wrote:
amoney wrote:Just so we have a bigger picture...

landline integrated or not?

ooma before or after the router?

try a different phone?
Integrated cable modem and router (after router). No landline integrated. Tried a different phone...same issue.

New development: Now a person on the receiving end of an ooma call can hear me for about 10 seconds...then they can't. I can still hear them the whole time.
What kind of modem/router.

Check to see if it has additional firewall features, it may be blocking ports? If so people have reported as simple as a reset can resolve issues.

Known issues with Motorola gateway and 2Wire gateway.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

sfhub
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:22 am

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by sfhub » Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:37 pm

If you haven't tried already, place Ooma in front of your router. See if that makes a difference. That will tell you whether the firewall is an issue or not.

max232
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:51 pm

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by max232 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:20 pm

amoney wrote:
max232 wrote:
amoney wrote:Just so we have a bigger picture...

landline integrated or not?

ooma before or after the router?

try a different phone?
Integrated cable modem and router (after router). No landline integrated. Tried a different phone...same issue.

New development: Now a person on the receiving end of an ooma call can hear me for about 10 seconds...then they can't. I can still hear them the whole time.
What kind of modem/router.

Check to see if it has additional firewall features, it may be blocking ports? If so people have reported as simple as a reset can resolve issues.

Known issues with Motorola gateway and 2Wire gateway.
It's a Netgear wireless modem gateway CG814GCMR

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by amoney » Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:58 am

I agree with SFHUB, this is one of the first troubleshooting steps... place Ooma after the modem>ooma and see what happens.

And while we at it, might aswell check your line performance...

http://whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

qfconsulting
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:13 pm

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by qfconsulting » Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:19 pm

Any resolution on this? I have the exact same problem with a CG814GCMR. Inbound calls work fine. Outbound calls go through, but the person on the other end can't hear me.

fthomasson
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:54 am

Re: Panasonic handset issues with ooma telo

Post by fthomasson » Sat Mar 20, 2010 1:07 pm

I have the same Integrated modem/router (CG814GCMR) with the Telo connected to router (Option-2B) and the computer to the home network port. I am now using a Uniden DECT 6.0 1560 phone system. It works well.But, I also have used a Panasonic 5.8 GHz phone. It also worked well. Have you enabled 10 digit dialing? I had a similar problem before I enabled 10 digit dialing. My wife doesn't like having to dial 10 digits for local calls but 7 digits causes problems.

Post Reply