Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#44752 by Mehdron
Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:01 pm
I have a question about hooking up my Scout given my wiring topology.

I'm new to Ooma today. I went for the Hub/Scout rather than the Telo due to the concerns about the Telo handsets.

I am disappointed by the lack of explanation in the Ooma documentation as to exactly how the thing works over the wires so that those of us who have something different than the basic configurations in the User Guide can figure out what to do.

In my case, I have a wiring closet in the basement where both the outside Qwest phone line and the Comcast cable service comes in (hence, no DSL). All of the telephone and ethernet jacks in the house are home-run to the closet using Cat5. I'm using my telco landline service for the time being, at least until I gain some experience and confidence with the Ooma service. I haven't yet decided whether we will get Premiere service or not.

My Ooma Hub is hooked up between my cable modem and router. I discovered that I had to disconnect my Qwest service from the punch-down block and hook it directly up to the Wall jack on the Hub (this was not at all clear from the documentation but I inferred what to do after perusing the forums for a while). I have the Phone jack on the Hub connected to the punch-down block to enable all the phones in the house to get the Ooma dialtone.

With the Hub out of the way in the basement closet and being undecided about Premeire, I have not activated the Ooma Broadband Answering Machine and am continuing to use my old standalone answering machine.