Local numbers

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
dmclone
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:57 am

Local numbers

Post by dmclone » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:00 am

I just received my telo yesterday and I went to look for a local number and I can't find anything. I called customer service and they have every small town in Iowa except the capital and largest, des moines. The customer service rep didn't seem to really have a clue. Can anyone help me figure out how to get a local number?

Potts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: Local numbers

Post by Potts » Wed Jan 20, 2010 4:35 am

Call CS again and also email them using this link, http://www.ooma.com/support/contact-us, Asking them to order a local calling number, because the only number available is long distant. It took me about 3 weeks to get one, maybe because it was around Christmas time.
Setup Dec. 2009. Cable Modem, (Hub and Scout purchase Amazon.Com) Router (Linksys WRT5465S2) Ooma Premier.

dmclone
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:57 am

Re: Local numbers

Post by dmclone » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:07 am

Thank you, I gave it a try. They told me to call back in a week.

Isn't this a little weird though? Shouldn't they have something in place that automatically gets new numbers once they get down to a certain point? I mean there are 1/2 million people in the Des Moines metro. I'm guessing ordering a few extra isn't going to kill the company. On a side note they did have numbers for Iowa Falls which has roughly 5K people :(

Potts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: Local numbers

Post by Potts » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:14 am

I know it's a pain in the butt, but once everything is setup and running correctly, I'm sure you'll be happy. I know I am.
Setup Dec. 2009. Cable Modem, (Hub and Scout purchase Amazon.Com) Router (Linksys WRT5465S2) Ooma Premier.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Local numbers

Post by amoney » Wed Jan 20, 2010 4:18 pm

Did CS say call back in 1 week to ask the question again or did they open a service request ticket number that you have for your records?!
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

dmclone
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:57 am

Re: Local numbers

Post by dmclone » Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:56 am

Yes, I got a ticket #

Post Reply