Porting Today - Calls going to VM and no Call Log

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
curtl
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:32 pm

Porting Today - Calls going to VM and no Call Log

Post by curtl » Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:28 am

Ok, I got an e-mail awhile ago that my account phone number had changed from my temp number to my old landline number.

I am trying to call home right now, and the calls go straight to voicemail, and they do not show up in the call log. If I leave a VM, it does show up and I can hear it back.

Is this a normal part of the porting process? I haven't gotten any other e-mails that the porting is complete, but before I go into a weekend without a workable phone and no way to contact support, I wanted to find out if I was going to have an issue.

I should mention that after completing my setup, I set my landline to forward calls to my temporary number with Ooma. I was under the impression that this would go away when the number was ported, since my forwarding was with AT&T. Also, when I try to call my temporary Ooma number directly, I get a "number disconnected" message.

Thanks!

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Porting Today - Calls going to VM and no Call Log

Post by murphy » Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:16 am

If your port is being done today, it is normal to have no phone service for several hours.
The old phone company disconnects your old line first.
Later in the day Ooma activates your number on their system.
It is not an instantaneous switchover.

If memory serves, mine took 6 hours.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

curtl
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:32 pm

Re: Porting Today - Calls going to VM and no Call Log

Post by curtl » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:34 am

Thanks. It appears that is what is happening.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Porting Today - Calls going to VM and no Call Log

Post by amoney » Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:02 pm

Note you may need to reboot, I did not have to but others have reported that they did.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

curtl
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:32 pm

Re: Porting Today - Calls going to VM and no Call Log

Post by curtl » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:02 pm

Rebooting appears to have done the trick, thanks for the tip!

User avatar
Mike-o-Matic
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:45 pm

Re: Porting Today - Calls going to VM and no Call Log

Post by Mike-o-Matic » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:09 pm

Awlright! We love happy endings, around here :-)
Customer Since: November 2009.
Number Port: ordered 12/14/09; completed 01/07/10.
Hardware: one Hub, one Scout, one Telo.
Service Level: Annual Premier.

curtl
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:32 pm

Re: Porting Today - Calls going to VM and no Call Log

Post by curtl » Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:52 pm

Me too!

Shortly after I rebooted it, I got an e-mail from Ooma letting me know the port was complete, and that I should reboot my unit to get it to pick up the new settings!

Post Reply