Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#41952 by kelkin
Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:25 pm
I'm new to OOMA and was quite surprised to find out that it takes 3-4 weeks to port a number, based on people's experience does it really take that long? Or do they just state the worst case scenario?

I wish I read the forums before I purchased tonight, it sounds like there are a lot of people with a lot of issues and clearly customer service is poor which is quite disconcerting. OOMA sounds like an amazing product, I hope I'm one of the few that everything just works and I don't have to call in!
-Keith
#41960 by Groundhound
Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:52 pm
Assuming you have not activated your Ooma yet, and are planning to port your number if everything works well, I'd advise that you choose not to integrate your landline with Ooma when you activate, keeping your landline separate from Ooma. Instead get an Ooma number that you can use while you are testing. If you decide to port your landline number later on it will replace the Ooma-assigned number. If you want to receive calls on your Ooma number while in your testing phase you can setup call forwarding to your Ooma number with your landline provider. This way you will be able to test all Ooma features as they will work once your port is complete.
#41963 by Mike-o-Matic
Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:46 pm
Hi Kelkin,

I'll just throw this out there. "Satisfied customers rarely post about it."

I'm convinced that the vast, silent majority are like me: they had easy set-ups, love their oomas, and are saving a wad of cash on their phone service. A quick look at Amazon's, Costco's, Walmart's, or BestBuy's websites shows that ooma gets great user ratings. I think that says a lot.

So my advice is, give your ooma a fair trial, and go from there. What's the most you can lose by trying? On the flip side however, you have a lot to gain.

Regards,
o-matic