Can phones and scout share home phone wiring?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Can phones and scout share home phone wiring?

Post by caseybea » Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:39 pm

Hi- relatively new user. Cool stuff thus far. Here's my question (I want to confirm before I plug things in this way and risk shorting out something..).

My setup thus far is this:

.... Ooma Hub > [phone port] > (common home wiring) > Phone

Works like a charm.

At a separate room location, I also tested out the scout using a dedicated line:

Ooma Hub > [wall port] > .. (dedicated wire pair-- for now) ....... [wall port] > Scout

Here's my problem. In an ideal situation, location "X" would have a scout, and then a phone plugged into IT. Sadly, I have discovered I have the same issue many many people have reported, that the call quality of a call that goes THROUGH the scout has issues-- the remote person in the phone call often hears crackling / garbled audio. BUT.. I really like the one-button voicemail functionality of the scout. I want it in my kitchen, next to my phone....

Can I do something like this?

Ooma Hub > [wall port] > (common phone wiring)...
> [phone port] > (common phone wiring)...


and then where the scout is:
...(common phone wiring) > Phone
...(common phone wiring) > [wall port] > Scout


My understanding is that theoretically-- this should work- as the phone signal for the house phones (carried throughout the home over the common phone wiring) can SHARE the signals that the Hub//Scout communicate with over the same wiring - because the HPNA between the hub and scout operate at totally different frequencies. (kindas like dsl..).

The result would be that at the location where the scout is-- I still have a phone, I still have a scout- and I avoid the issue of call quality ruined by going THROUGH the scout.

Comments?
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Can phones and scout share home phone wiring?

Post by bw1 » Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:59 pm

Yes, you can do that by running both phone and wall ports to a splitter and then to the wall jack.

You could also use the line 1 / line 2 wiring in your common home wiring.

User avatar
jmassimilla
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:38 am
Location: Burlington County, South Jersey

Re: Can phones and scout share home phone wiring?

Post by jmassimilla » Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:19 am

caseybea wrote:Hi- relatively new user. Cool stuff thus far. Here's my question (I want to confirm before I plug things in this way and risk shorting out something..).

My setup thus far is this:

.... Ooma Hub > [phone port] > (common home wiring) > Phone

Works like a charm.

At a separate room location, I also tested out the scout using a dedicated line:

Ooma Hub > [wall port] > .. (dedicated wire pair-- for now) ....... [wall port] > Scout

Here's my problem. In an ideal situation, location "X" would have a scout, and then a phone plugged into IT. Sadly, I have discovered I have the same issue many many people have reported, that the call quality of a call that goes THROUGH the scout has issues-- the remote person in the phone call often hears crackling / garbled audio. BUT.. I really like the one-button voicemail functionality of the scout. I want it in my kitchen, next to my phone....

Can I do something like this?

Ooma Hub > [wall port] > (common phone wiring)...
> [phone port] > (common phone wiring)...


and then where the scout is:
...(common phone wiring) > Phone
...(common phone wiring) > [wall port] > Scout


My understanding is that theoretically-- this should work- as the phone signal for the house phones (carried throughout the home over the common phone wiring) can SHARE the signals that the Hub//Scout communicate with over the same wiring - because the HPNA between the hub and scout operate at totally different frequencies. (kindas like dsl..).

The result would be that at the location where the scout is-- I still have a phone, I still have a scout- and I avoid the issue of call quality ruined by going THROUGH the scout.

Comments?
I have the same setup at different locations in my home for the same reasons that you stated and it works well.
I also have another phone plugged into a scout at a central location to take advantage of the second line feature. I haven't had any issues with voice quality with the scout.
Customer since Feb 2009
2 Hub/Scout
1 Telo/Handset
Lifetime Premier Subscriber

User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Can phones and scout share home phone wiring?

Post by caseybea » Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:51 pm

jmassimilla wrote: I have the same setup at different locations in my home for the same reasons that you stated and it works well.
I also have another phone plugged into a scout at a central location to take advantage of the second line feature. I haven't had any issues with voice quality with the scout.
Cool, thanks for verifying.

I did extensive tests making OUTBOUND calls THROUGH the scout; I consistently get scratchy audio, which is only discernable at the remote end of the call. I tested this by leaving lengthy voicemail messages to my phone at my office. Every call through the scout-- crappy scratchy audio. But as soon as I connected my phone directly to the hub (via home wiring) - calls were MUCH MUCH better. This kind of test had the benefit of *me* hearing how the call quality sounded... :)

Disappointing, but because I can still have the phone+scout at a particular location via a splitter- my requirements will still be met.

It's no surprise there's a glut of scouts available on eBay... :-)
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

Post Reply