Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#37453 by reggiealex
Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:07 am
I'm new to Ooma Telo and I just got my number ported--and it works great. I have not canceled AT&T yet but would like to do so but I have ADT Alarm and I'm a little weary of losing my home alarm system. From what I've been reading ADT may or may not work but in order to get my alarm plugged into the Ooma telo I need to have home distribution. My telo is downstairs and alarm upstairs

Here's my question: Do I just unplug something outside my home (telco I believe) and then plug Ooma into any phone jack and then I have home distribution? Does this now allow my alarm to get a dial tone and be tested? Or do I need to cancel AT&T first before doing this?

Also with home distribution it says I will lose many features. Can I run a splitter to the wall phone jack and to a wireless phone base and still get the features--I'm planning to get the Telo handset but just wanted to ask.
#37456 by murphy
Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:16 am
To use ooma with an existing alarm system you disconnect the incoming telephone line from your house and connect the ooma phone jack to the point where you disconnected the outside line. This is absolutely required for the alarm system to be able to capture the phone line in the case of an emergency. The alarm system also needs to be programmed to precede the alarm company's phone number with *99 pause. The method of entering the * and the pause is dependent on the alarm system. You would also need the installers code for the alarm system to make the change. In most cases this will require a service call from your alarm company to implement.
#37461 by reggiealex
Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:39 am
Just to make sure I understand. I open the box outside my home and disconnect the line coming into my house and connect the Ooma system into that same disconnect on the outside of my house. So Ooma will be connected on the outside of my house correct?