ooma scout setup

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
JmPantalone
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Sacramento Ca.

ooma scout setup

Post by JmPantalone » Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:20 am

Ive been trying to setup the scout in a seperate room to use it just for listening to my voice mail. No phone attached to it.Cannot get it to connect. My service is DSL. Tried using splitters,dsl filters,L1-L2-L1+L2 adapters but nothing works.

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: ooma scout setup

Post by murphy » Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:26 am

Does it work if you set the scout beside the hub and connect a short phone cable from the wall port of the hub to the wall port of the scout?

If it does, you have a house wiring problem to solve.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

JmPantalone
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Sacramento Ca.

Re: ooma scout setup

Post by JmPantalone » Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:35 am

Yes it works with that setup I recently dropped my phone service and im using AT&T dsl direct. Wondering if they did something to the 2wire pair that comes into the house.One for dsl...one for phone?????
Last edited by JmPantalone on Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: ooma scout setup

Post by murphy » Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:40 am

Then you need to analyze your house phone wiring.
My first guess is that the line 2 wires are not connected to the wall jacks because the installer was in a hurry or lazy.
Open up the wall jack and you will probably find the yellow and black wires not connected to anything.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

JmPantalone
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Sacramento Ca.

Re: ooma scout setup

Post by JmPantalone » Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:43 am

I think youre right murphy....Its still dark here in calif. so at first light i will check it out.only changes were made to the main box outside Am i now going to have to use the dsl/phone splitters again

Post Reply