Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#36180 by jsps999
Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:02 pm
I'm new to Ooma and attempted to use the Hub this way, with this configuration:

CenturyLink (my local telco) DSL service: 10k down, 0.850 up
DSL modem: Embarq 660 ( Model EQ-660R ADSL Router )

Ooma Hub (Straight out of the box - have NOT changed any internal Hub config settings)

Linksys BEFSR81 eight-port router (Telco CSR remotely originally configed DSL modem to also be a 'one-port router' and configed the Linksys router to be only an Ethernet Switch)

Three PCs with XP Pro SP-3 networked into the router's ports.

When I originally physically connected everything as above, this is what happened:

The DSL modem's Ethernet light was Yellow(bad) instead of Green(good) after I inserted the Hub between modem & router.
However - Ooma Hub seemed to be working 'OK'; outgoing test calls seemed OK, incoming test calls seemed OK, and Voicemail seemed OK.
BUT - I could not access the Internet with the Web browser.

Next, I tried using a Crossover cable between modem & Hub, then afterward relocated Crossover cable between Hub and router.
The Hub still seemed to function OK with phone calls with either Crossover cable locations, BUT still no Web access to the PCs, AND the DSL modem's Ethernet lamp remained Yellow(bad) instead of Green(good).

Next, I reinstalled the normal 'straight' Ethernet cable between modem & Hub, and then plugged one of the PC's Ethernet cable direct into the HUB's Home port.

The DSL modem's Ethernet lamp was still Yellow(bad) instead of Green(good), Hub still functioned 'OK', BUT - still no Web access to the direct-connected PC to HUB.

Weird, eh :?:

So, by this time I reasoned that if some Ooma configs allowed the Hub to be connected to a 'one-box' combo modem-router, then a separate modem connected to the router WAN port is essentially the same thing as the one-box combo config.

I then relocated the HUB to one of the router's 8 ports: