Ooma and OpenDNS

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
danmiller3
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:52 am

Ooma and OpenDNS

Post by danmiller3 » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:54 am

Hi there -
My configuration is:

Cable modem --> Ooma Hub --> Linksys Wireless router

I have my Linksys router configured for OpenDNS. Question is do I need to do the same for Ooma and are there any issues with that?

Thanks,
--Dan

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Ooma and OpenDNS

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:23 am

I use Open DNS as do many on this forum. As you know it seems to be a pretty fast DNS server.

Wayne

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Ooma and OpenDNS

Post by Groundhound » Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:51 am

Just the settings in your router are all you need. Go to this link to confirm under the "Live Preview" column that your OpenDNS settings are correct: http://www.opendns.com/about/share/

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma and OpenDNS

Post by southsound » Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:05 am

You might also find that you need to access the setup page using the IP address of the hub - 172.27.35.1 - instead of setup.ooma.com.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply