Connection Problem ( No Internet )

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
JmPantalone
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Sacramento Ca.

Connection Problem ( No Internet )

Post by JmPantalone » Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:38 pm

I Have two computers..A Mac and Windows 7.When Im using my home phone i cannot conect to the internet on my windows 7 computer... My mac connects with no problem.
Heres my setup:
DSL (att) to a 2wire gateway/router
Windows 7 to the 2wire gate way/router
Mac to the 2wire gateway/router
2wire gateway to the ooma hub( Not telo) ( ooma behind the 2wire gateway/router) heres what puzzeling me.
When i plug the windows 7 computer into the home port of the ooma hub everything is fine.
Please Help. Thankyou everbody

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Connection Problem ( No Internet )

Post by tommies » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:06 pm

when your pc is connected to ooma HOME port, go to http://setup.ooma.com, on Network page, change the MODEM port MAC to use it build in MAC.

See if this helps
tommies

JmPantalone
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Sacramento Ca.

Re: Connection Problem ( No Internet )

Post by JmPantalone » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:55 pm

Its already set to that. Dont understand why my mac has no problem when using the home phone but windows 7 wont connect to the internet. Tryed different settings in windows 7 but still wont connect. Thanks again

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Connection Problem ( No Internet )

Post by Groundhound » Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:40 pm

I'm not familiar with the 2 wire gateway router, is it wireless? Does your Win7 machine connect to it wirelessly? Do you use a 2.4 GHz phone? If yes to all these it could be an interference issue with the wireless router and the phone.

JmPantalone
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Sacramento Ca.

Re: Connection Problem ( No Internet )

Post by JmPantalone » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:37 am

It is a cordless phone .The 2wire gateway/router does have wireless but it is disabled.Both my computers are hard wired to the 2wire.When im not using the phone windows 7 will connect with no problems..Like i said my mac connects with no problems when im using my home phone...but windows 7 will not connect when the phone is in use.Im thinking its a windows 7 issue.....But what it is i dont understand

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Connection Problem ( No Internet )

Post by Groundhound » Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:15 am

JmPantalone wrote:It is a cordless phone .The 2wire gateway/router does have wireless but it is disabled.Both my computers are hard wired to the 2wire.When im not using the phone windows 7 will connect with no problems..Like i said my mac connects with no problems when im using my home phone...but windows 7 will not connect when the phone is in use.Im thinking its a windows 7 issue.....But what it is i dont understand
Strange. Does your 2wire assign dynamic IP's to all three devices (mac, win7, ooma) and in the 192.xxx.xxx.xxx range?

Post Reply