Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
cpaul_ct
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:04 pm

Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by cpaul_ct » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:10 pm

Hi,

I've had the Ooma for about a week. Had the Ooma in both positions on my network:

Cable Modem -> Ooma -> Airport Extreme Base Station

Cable Modem -> Airport Extreme Base Station -> Ooma

and I keep having a reoccurring issue where the Ooma will become unresponsive, with only the 1 & 2 lights lit up on the face of the device. Unplugging the power resets it and returns it to a normal condition for a period of time, but it eventually goes offline again. This is not good.

It does this with the Ooma in both of the network setups described above. My internet is quite stable and I've never had any of these types of problems with my Vonage device (just started the number transfer process and I'm thinking now I might have been a little to quick to switch...).

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by hpepper » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:11 pm

Do you have the Telo or the older Hub/Scout?

Do you have DSL or cable or other?

Also, do you hae a landline integrated with the Ooma system? :)

Oh... and welcome to Ooma and the forums.
Last edited by hpepper on Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cpaul_ct
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:04 pm

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by cpaul_ct » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:13 pm

Cable. Motorola Surfboard modem. 20mb down/6mb up. Dynamic address.

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by hpepper » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:15 pm

Telo or Older Classic Hub?

Integrated landline or not?

Thanks.

cpaul_ct
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:04 pm

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by cpaul_ct » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:18 pm

Telo.

No integrated landline.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by murphy » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:39 pm

If 1 & 2 were lit blue it was probably trying to update the firmware. Leave it alone until it's done. Removing it's power at just the wrong time can turn it into the equivalent of a brick.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

cpaul_ct
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:04 pm

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by cpaul_ct » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:44 pm

Thanks, but it seems to be in that condition for hours.

oldanbo
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:16 am
Location: North Olympic Penninsula, WA

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by oldanbo » Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:04 pm

cpaul_ct wrote:Hi,

I've had the Ooma for about a week. Had the Ooma in both positions on my network:

Cable Modem -> Ooma -> Airport Extreme Base Station

Cable Modem -> Airport Extreme Base Station -> Ooma

and I keep having a reoccurring issue where the Ooma will become unresponsive, with only the 1 & 2 lights lit up on the face of the device. Unplugging the power resets it and returns it to a normal condition for a period of time, but it eventually goes offline again. This is not good.

It does this with the Ooma in both of the network setups described above. My internet is quite stable and I've never had any of these types of problems with my Vonage device (just started the number transfer process and I'm thinking now I might have been a little to quick to switch...).

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Pardon my ignorance but what is an Airport Extreme Base Station? Is that the equivalent to a pc/laptop or router?

I'm thinking that you need to reboot the cable modem, Airport, Telo in the proper sequence. I just don't know what the Airport is, sorry.

Regards,
Dan

cpaul_ct
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:04 pm

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by cpaul_ct » Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:19 am

The Airport Base Station is an Apple Router/Wireless Base station.

The fact that this happens when it's connected directly to the Cable Modem, removes my internal network components from causing the issue.

oldanbo
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:16 am
Location: North Olympic Penninsula, WA

Re: Telo going offline and unresponsive - only 1 & 2 lights lit

Post by oldanbo » Sun Nov 22, 2009 2:29 pm

yes, but it is my understanding that anytime you make that sort of change you still need to reboot. Try reboot cable modem and when it's done power up Telo. See if that helps. :)

Post Reply