Help! Frustrated by not getting incoming calls

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Help! Frustrated by not getting incoming calls

Post by Groundhound » Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:35 am

OomaWannaBe wrote:Instead of calling tech support, can I simply sign up for a new phone number on line at MyOoma and then forward calls to that number?
If you do that your landline will still be integrated with Ooma and Ooma will not work unless you have the wall port connected with it. I'm not sure how that would affect your stated problem.

ntoy

Re: Help! Frustrated by not getting incoming calls

Post by ntoy » Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:34 pm

Hello,

Here is something to check with landline config provided the Ooma logo is blue:
-Do you have an answering service on your landline? If so & you have new vmails, pickup a phone(without Ooma) directly connected to your wall jack - do you hear stutter dialtone?-Ooma is unable to interpret stutter dialtone & you would need to clear out all of your vmails to have regular landline dialtone. Afterwards, try an incoming test call.

In regards to switching your landline number to an Ooma number, you would have to call into our support line. This cannot be done in My Ooma. Once your Ooma number is replaced with one of our numbers, you would be in nonlandline configuration & have no dependencies on your landline.

OomaWannaBe
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:57 pm

Re: Help! Frustrated by not getting incoming calls

Post by OomaWannaBe » Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:46 pm

I do not have an answering service on the landline. I do not hear a stutter dial tone. So, unless anybody else has any ideas, I guess I'll call tech support.

OomaWannaBe
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:57 pm

Re: Help! Frustrated by not getting incoming calls

Post by OomaWannaBe » Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:47 pm

Thanks. Ooma is working now. After getting an Ooma telephone number and forwarding calls from my landline to the new Ooma number everything is working.

I'll let it run for a few days and then move on to porting.

Post Reply