DSL but no phone

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

DSL but no phone

Post by Leeway » Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:11 am

I'm planning ahead to be prepared (I hope). When I make the switch from hub to Telo, I plan to give my hub to one of my son's & family. He has DSL via AT&T for web only. He has absolutely no phone service in his place (uses cell only). He could really use the Ooma hub. I will probably give him my current cordless phones too because I just ordered new ones.

Will I run into problems? Everyone here keeps talking about problems with DSL. I don't know why? I have U-Verse without phone isn't that DSL? I've never had any problems a plug into the router is all I needed.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: DSL but no phone

Post by murphy » Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:16 am

As long as the DSL signal only goes to the DSL modem and is not fed to the rest of the phone wires in the house there will not be any problem.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: DSL but no phone

Post by hpepper » Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:46 am

... and especially if he isn't using the Scout... no reason to have DSL all over the house wiring.

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

Re: DSL but no phone

Post by Leeway » Tue Oct 13, 2009 6:47 pm

If he has no phone service with AT&T but does have web with them. Doesn't that mean he would have a dry loop?

Is there any problem with ooma hub and dry loop?

I have U-verse but I do not have a dry loop so I'm not sure how that all goes together. I guess it's about time for me to get out the Ooma hub manual and re-read. :!:

He won't need the Scout, just having a home phone will be a boost for them.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: DSL but no phone

Post by southsound » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:56 pm

Leeway wrote:If he has no phone service with AT&T but does have web with them. Doesn't that mean he would have a dry loop?

Is there any problem with ooma hub and dry loop?

I have U-verse but I do not have a dry loop so I'm not sure how that all goes together. I guess it's about time for me to get out the Ooma hub manual and re-read. :!:

He won't need the Scout, just having a home phone will be a boost for them.
Donna,
It will work just fine. Yes, he has a dry loop - DSL without the underlying voice service. He just needs to connect up the hub either before or after his router (both work fine) and plug your cordless phones into the phone port on the hub. The only complication might be if he is using a wireless connection for his computers and your old cordless is either a 2.4ghz or some of the 5.8ghz models. They can interfere with a WiFi connection and take the network down. His best bet would be your hub with a DECT 6.0 system from either Uniden or Panasonic. I bought a couple (I know, I'm a phoneaholic) of 5-handset Uniden phones from Staples and used a $25 off coupon so I got them for $75 each. That would more than take care of all his phone needs and would not interfere with his wireless (if he was using that feature). At any rate, I'm sure he will be pleased. Good Job Mom! :cool:
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply