CAN NOT CONNECT - OOMA all red.

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
mitch77
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:44 pm

CAN NOT CONNECT - OOMA all red.

Post by mitch77 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:04 am

I can not get the OOMA to connect.
I ran through the procedure below and I got it connected.
Then it was lit up red the next day.
And now I have tried the same stuff below repeatedly and I get nothing.
(I tried with Comodo firewall off too - though it was working with it on.)

Here is what I did exactly:

Disconnected OOMA from my network

Powered off (unplugged) the ooma and waited 30 seconds

Held down the blue tab and power on the ooma *and*
(NOTE: My tab is Clear but I it's the only tab to hold down.)
while still continuing to hold down the tab
waited for all lights to stop blinking then released the tab.
(NOTE: I waited too long and they started to cycle through again so I unplugged when they got to the place in the cycle where they were all off.) (COULD SOMEONE MENTION HOW LONG THE CYCLE TAKES SO I CAN KNOW THE DIFF BETWEEN A PAUSE IN THE LIGHT CYCLE AND THE END )

Then I-
Powered Ooma back off and plugged cat5 - modem port to router

with Ooma off I powered off all my other devices wated 30 sec
and powered them back on at 30 sec intervals in this order;
cable modem
router
Ooma

Thinking maybe I'd better return this and stick with Viatalk?
Did I mess anything up?
Is the continued presence of the Viatalk modem an issue?
Any other ideas?

Thanks

mitch

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: CAN NOT CONNECT - OOMA all red.

Post by Aveamantium » Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:01 am

It could be the VT ATA?? Have you tried the HUB connected between the modem and router? Make sure you do the power off and power on cycle that you mentioned following the change.
Go AVS!

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: CAN NOT CONNECT - OOMA all red.

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:05 am

(COULD SOMEONE MENTION HOW LONG THE CYCLE TAKES SO I CAN KNOW THE DIFF BETWEEN A PAUSE IN THE LIGHT CYCLE AND THE END )
30 Seconds.

Wayne

Post Reply